Partitions of Poland

The Partitions of Poland happened in the 18th century and ended the existence of a sovereign state of Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth. They involved Prussia, Russia and Austria dividing up the Polish-Lithuanian lands between themselves. The three partitions occurred in:

  • February 17, 1772
  • January 21, 1793
  • October 1795
The First Partition (1772) The Second Partition (1793) The Third Partition (1795)