Polish Government

Local government actually operates at three levels. The smallest "gmina" (district/commune) is more or less at the level of village or small town administration. The next level, "powiat" (county), is a bit broader with wider responsibilities, say for a large town or city. The biggest level of local government though is the "województwo" (region).

  • On July 27, 1998, President Aleksander Kwasniewski signed into law a bill dividing Poland into 16 new provinces.
  • On August 7, 1998, the government decided there will be 308 counties (powiaty) in Poland.

A Voivodship (Romanian: Voievodat, Polish: Województwo, Serbian: Vojvodstvo or Vojvodina) was a feudal state in medieval Romania, Hungary, Poland, Russia and Serbia, ruled by a Voivod. Since the Voivod was initially the military commander next to the ruler, a voivodship meant the whole territory of Poland. During the feudal partition, each from small prinicpalities had its own voivod, and therefore after the reunification the territory was called a voivodship.

A teritorry over which a voivod rules is called Voivodship. The term is often translated into English as "duke".

"Wojewoda" is a current name of the governor of a province (voivodship - "województwo") in Poland.